Looking back on 2016

I know we are almost two months into the New Year but I thought this would be a great way to reflect and remember the highlights of the past year.

It started with our engagement at Waterkloof Wines
I have a whole blog post dedicated to this which you can read here.
img_9895

We bought a house
While we both already own property, there is something about buying the house you will live in and share your life together that is very grown up and exciting.
img_3877

I had my favourite food experience ever at The Greenhouse
I absolutely love eating out, the proof of this being the 120 different restaurants I ate at last year which doesn’t include repeat visits. The Greenhouse was by far the most amazing meal of my life.
img_0382

Rediscovered my love for Cape Town
I remembered why I loved the city whilst working there for five weeks.
img_0369

My first ever holiday with a friend
Together with two of my best friends Michelle & Baveshan, I had an awesome balling week in Cape Town.
img_1813

Completed 7 years of work with this view as a consolation
I can’t believe how the years have been flying by. Seven down and many more to go. 
img_2498

Watched five theatre shows
I was lucky enough to watch Swan Lake on Ice, Singing in the Rain, Annie, I love you, you perfect now change & Sherlock Holmes and The Case of The Queen’s diamond.
img_4067

Strawberry picking for the first time
We did a day trip to Harties where we went strawberry picking, lunched, went up with the cable car, visited the windmill & Eiffel Tower replica. 
img_3387

I read 29 books
This wasn’t nearly as many as I would have liked to have read but I still thought it was good going.
img_2234

A weekend away at Tshwene Lodge
We saw elephants, zebra, cheetahs, lions, rhino, giraffes & plenty of buck. A weekend in the bush where there is nothing to do but eat and enjoy game drives can be a welcome break.
img_3862

Painted for the first time since school
I absolutely loved our work function hosted by Paint Nite. It was my idea after all 🙂 
img_2057

Received ten bouquets of flowers
I love beautiful flowers which brighten up my day & put a smile on my face.
img_3875

Discovered escape rooms
img_8766

Team building at Gold Reef City
Was such a fun day out running around even though our team came last.
img_9818

Snapped close to 20 000 photos including way too many selfies of myself
img_0680

And occasionally ones with others
Like my gorgeous little sister.
img_1211

Spent Sundays at the Fourways Farmers market
img_1212

Consumed exorbitant amounts of ice cream both at work
img_4180

And at Ice Cream Sunday
img_2205

A four year dating anniversary for us at The Winehouse
img_4367

And a 29 year anniversary for my parents
img_9926

Celebrated the beautiful festival of Diwali.
img_3442

Reconnected with friends.
I was so grateful to spend time with my friends Lisa, Michelle & Baveshan who live overseas. As well as reconnect with Navina, Lebo & Ruby who I don’t see as often as I would like to.
img_3781

Discovered new parts of Jozi
St Johns College was the beautiful setting for Kamersvol.
img_9411

Two celeb sightings
Janez filiming at Urbanologi.
img_2099

Locnville lunching at Bellagio.
img_2380

Saw the sun rise
img_9700

And set in Jozi
img_2283

And Cape Town
img_0116

Saw the super moon
I must confess I didn’t notice anything different except it being too bright to stare at.
img_4913

We found any excuse to bake a cake
img_8778

Celebrated many birthdays
A lovely dinner with family spent devouring my favourite pasta and the most delicious cake at Tashas to celebrate 28 years of my awesomeness.
img_3139

A night out with friends at Cornuti & Union Bar.
img_0616

With plenty of presents.
img_0546

Tshwene Lodge for a weekend getaway to celebrate Romi’s 30th.
img_1657

My mum’s birthday at Bellagio.
img_2382

A little pig’s birthday at Jb’s.
img_4532

Fiance’s birthday at Escondido.
img_2675

And a special little one who turned eight.
img_6988

The most special celebration of the year being Mother’s Day
img_3005

The year ended with a kick ass year end function party
gdg-photography-31

And a family trip to Dubai
img_4915

With a day trip to the Sheikh Zayed Mosque in Abu Dhabi
img_7097

This was our second family overseas trip together but first where we all travelled together. I love this picture we took in the Dubai Miracle Garden.
img_7200

And to round it off I wrote 36 blog posts.

Here is to many more great memories in 2017 🙂
CG

Leave a Reply

