Pigalle Restaurant Review

Pigalle is a Portuguese restaurant with several branches in Johannesburg as well as Cape Town. I visited The Melrose Arch restaurant for lunch.

img_3233

The decor is sophisticated and elegant but I thought it looked outdated during the day. 

img_3226

The ambience and decor would be much better at night. 

img_3223

We had complimentary warm rolls and a butternut soup which was delicious.

img_3221

I wouldn’t dream of ordering anything other than seafood here because that is what they are known for. We both had the Pigalle platter for R395 with four queen prawns and five langoustines served with two sides for R395. We knew that we wanted langoustines and this was the best deal from all the options. The platter was served with lemon butter, garlic and peri peri sauce. I was bit surprised that the seafood is basted in a sauce as I thought that it would be just grilled, I still liked it though. The langoustines wasn’t sweet as I expected and one half portion of mine tasted a bit strange. I probably wouldn’t be inclined to order langoustines here again. The food was more than enough and we were both sufficiently stuffed. Our sides of chips and veggies were delicious and also quite a huge portion.

img_3229

Service was great although I did find the constant clearing of side plates a tad too much and a distraction. I would say the mains here aren’t that expensive as most average around R200. A meal for two will still cost you at least R600 once you factor in drinks and tip.

img_3231

For me this is a restaurant you should visit for great quality seafood. It’s not a place I would often eat at because of the price and the indulgence of the food. I will definitely be back though when I’m craving prawns.

Click: http://pigallerestaurants.co.za
Ring: 087 550 4865
Hop: High Level Street, Melrose Arch

Portuguese & Seafood,
CG 

Leave a Reply

