AtholPlace restaurant review

I never understood the hype behind a boutique hotel until I visited AtholPlace, the best I have been to in Johannesburg. This hidden gem is set on a beautiful property which houses both the restaurant and hotel.

IMG_8045

We arrived a little early for our dinner and was told we could sit anywhere and order a drink. I loved that there are so many places to relax, be present and enjoy your surroundings. There are three different couch areas, an outside garden set up as well as more formal dining sections.

IMG_8042

I loved the bar room which is perfect for drinks with friends. You have access to the bar, couches, a fireplace and the garden.

IMG_8039

We chose to sit in the pretty garden outside the bar before the rain chased us away.

IMG_8034

There is no cocktail menu but they made me a strawberry daiquiri – it tasted more like cherries but was still enjoyable. Our waiter did mention they are still working on getting their cocktails right.

IMG_8064

We chose this lovely couch on the patio to enjoy our drinks and snacks before dinner.

IMG_8076

Complimentary biltong, pretzels and nuts were served along with our drinks.

IMG_5442

I am all kinds of obsessed with the décor here which is so pretty and works so well with the rest of the hotel. The ambience is relaxed, tranquil and romantic. I would definitely recommend it for a special romantic occasion.

IMG_8063

We visited for a 3 course dinner as part of restaurant week and chose to sit in the semi outdoor section.

IMG_8054

There was also a lovely view of the pool from where we were seated which made me envious of those staying over.

IMG_8051

For starters we had the light smoked springbok carpaccio, pear puree, crisp parmesan, harissa oil and wasabi soil. This was a delicious starter we both enjoyed.

IMG_8088

For mains I had the lemon roasted salmon, asparagus arancini, sweetcorn puree courgette with semi dried tomato dressing. I liked the lemon flavour of the salmon but would have liked to have been asked how I wanted my salmon done. I didn’t like the other flavours of the dish which didn’t work well with the fish and felt over complicated.

IMG_8119

Roast pork belly with prawns, carrot puree, apple broccoli and mustard jus was the other main course. The boyfriend liked this dish although it also contained many ingredients and flavours. This was a huge portion of pork belly which he couldn’t finish.

IMG_8106

Dessert was a deconstructed milk tart with cookie crumble, apple compote and apple puree. This felt like two separate desserts, ice cream on the one side and milk tart on the other. Both the ice cream and milk tart were delicious but I didn’t like the apple as I’m not a fan of cooked fruit.

IMG_8124

I loved the yummy chocolate covered shortbread petit fours which ended the meal off.

IMG_8134

The service was good and I was impressed that we were offered complimentary still or sparkling water with our meal. We had a very lovely special meal and I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone. I only wish the menu was posted online as it changes daily and I like to see what I am eating before I go anywhere. Its obvious to see why everyone loves it here – do visit to find out what you have been missing out on! If you feel like splurging out, book a room at the hotel for a mini vacation.

Click: http://atholplace.co.za/
Ring: (011) 615 4303
Hop: 90 Pretoria Avenue, Atholl

Boutique & Hotels
CG

Leave a Reply

