Exploring Jozi – July 15 Edition

Visiting another country is always amazing. It affords you the opportunity to learn about another place, discover more about yourself and shed a different light on your home town. Don’t get me wrong I do love travelling but I love coming back home so much more. My recent trip to London made me more appreciative of Johannesburg. I have decided that I need to explore more of Jozi, not just go about the same routine of restaurant/shopping mall and movie.

I did extensive research when I was in London which included tourist attractions, restaurants, markets, galleries, museums and shops to name a few. I’m guessing many of you also do the same. Why don’t we do that in our own town? Sure we usually go to the latest event that pops up because it catches our social media feed and gets exposure. But why don’t we do our own research? Discover our own gems? I visited galleries in London but I am ashamed to say I had never been to an art gallery in Jhb or even thought to check what galleries there are.

I visited not one but two art galleries this weekend! Circa gallery is architecturally the most beautifully designed building I have seen, looking even more stunning at night. There are currently two exhibitions on at the moment, a collection by Colbert Mashile on the ground floor and one by Dylan Lewis on the first floor. It’s a short spiral walk to the top with light beaming in from the gaps in the outer design. The roof is one of the best parts of the gallery playing home to a rooftop lounge with beautiful views. We took the quick exit down a pretty leaf enclosed staircase.

Directly opposite Circa is the Everard Read Gallery in a converted house. I loved that there is plenty of light coming through the gallery and sections where you can see the garden and water features. The best part about these two galleries are that they are free! I am quite a late sleeper so the only difficulty for me was making it there before they closed at 1pm on a Saturday.

We decided to lunch on a candyfloss milk shake, craft burger and pollo pizza at Craft. They don’t do reservations so be prepared to wait. The busy and bustling vibe suited our day out of exploring.

The last excursion for the day was to 27 Boxes. Some advice is not to go to the street listed on the website as the parking entrance is on the street before it. It is an interesting space and a lot smaller than I imagined it. The outside area resembles a kids playground and the interior is vacant and cold. There is still construction carrying on with plenty of the store space unoccupied. I will definitely pay a visit in the summer time which should hopefully be better. The main reason for the trip was to try icecream at Paul Ballen’s store. Birthday cake and salted caramel were the two flavours we devoured. And yes it did taste like birthday cake!

The rest of the weekend was spent shopping and attending a Benefit Beauty event. Hey, you can run, you can hide but you can’t escape the mall!

IMG_6297

IMG_6298

IMG_6300

IMG_6301

IMG_6303

IMG_6305

IMG_6306

IMG_6315

IMG_6320

IMG_6318

IMG_6319

IMG_6321

IMG_6332

IMG_6325

IMG_6331

IMG_6327

IMG_6329

IMG_6317

IMG_6333

IMG_6334

IMG_6336

IMG_6335

IMG_6337

IMG_6346

IMG_6339

IMG_6348

IMG_6351

IMG_6359

IMG_6352

IMG_6354

IMG_6356

IMG_6357

IMG_6358

IMG_6360

IMG_6361

IMG_6365

IMG_6366

IMG_6367

IMG_6370

IMG_6371

IMG_6372

IMG_6373

IMG_6374

IMG_6378

IMG_3536

IMG_6379

IMG_3582

I hope these posts will inspire you to get out of your comfort zone and do a little exploring of your own!

Art & Galleries,
CG

Leave a Reply

