Retail Box Secret Box 3

Retail Box’s third secret box was a trick or treat Halloween inspired box for R149. The box was suitable for anyone who blow dries or styles their hair. To give the box a Halloween feel the usual pink wrapping paper and straw was replaced by grey paper and orange straw, luckily the sweet candy scent we have all come to love and associate with Retail Box was still there!

IMG_3348

Boxes either contained the GHD oval dressing brush that retails for R349 or the GHD natural bristle radial brush which retails for R299. I’m glad I received the oval dressing brush as I already own the radial brush. My first impression is that I don’t particularly like this brush. The bristles are really scratchy against your scalp, they are also quite short which means you have to brush your hair in small sections as they don’t reach all the way through. Using this brush takes both extra time and effort to detangle my hair vs my GHD paddle brush which I love.

IMG_3322

A full size 200ml Schwarzkopf super hold mousse retails for R199 on Retail Box (the can is marked for R159 and the price was R189 when I checked at the beginning of the week). I couldn’t find any reviews for this online so I am quite confused about what exactly this product does for your hair. The instructions are vague – apply to towel dried hair for super hold and great shine. From this description it seems that this only really works if you know how to blow dry your hair professionally and not like a crazy person like I do. I still have to try it out but I am sceptical that I will like it.

IMG_3332

The three Kerastase products we received were sample sizes and all from the same range. A 30ml Kerastase Bain Elixir Ultime Oleo-Complexe shampoo retails at R255 for 250ml. The shampoo contains a high concentration of oil to leave your hair shiny and nourished. The consistency is gel like and smells of artificial perfume.

IMG_3310

A 30ml Kerastase Masque Elixir Ultime Oleo-Complexe retails at R405 for 200ml. This leave in masque should be applied to the ends and lengths of the hair for 5 minutes before rinsing off. The masque is a rich, shimmery, butter golden colour and has a stronger scent than the shampoo. The smell reminds me slightly of the L’Oreal Elvive Nutri-Gloss range.

IMG_3312

A generously sized 50ml Keratase Elixir Ultime Oleo-Complexe retails for R470 for 125ml. This product is applied before cleansing to leave hair nourished, regenerated, silky and weightless. It’s interesting that this is specifically recommended to be used as a pre-cleanse whereas the other Kerastase hair oils can be used either for pre-cleanse/conditioning/pre-blow dry/finishing or retouching. Swirling the oil around in the bottle I can see how silky and light the formulation is.

IMG_3309

I loved that the Kerastase samples are mini replicas of the full size products with the oil even having a pump. The sample sizes are also generous – there is nothing worse than receiving 10ml satchet samples as products in boxes. I definitely think I’m going to keep the little bottles to refill with shampoo and conditioner when I’m travelling. We also receiving a bag of eye ball gummy sweets (some people received gummy worms) and a Retail Box branded pen. I devoured my sweets in one go because they were so yummy! The cute black, white and orange Halloween ghost, pumpkin and bat confetti was a nice touch added to the sweet bag.

IMG_3329

Overall it was another box that ladies who missed out will be jealous of! The box cost R149 (excluding delivery of R50 for orders under R500) but was worth R830. The GHD brush/mousse/oil on its own costs more than the price paid. This time around Retail Box didn’t advertise or send out a mailer – probably due to the crash the last time. I didn’t expect a box to come out so soon from the last one and stumbled across it when browsing the site. Service was quick as usual, I ordered on Friday and received my box on Monday afternoon. This was the first time I held back and didn’t buy anything extra. I did have my eye on/was very tempted to buy the Moroccan Oil clarifying shampoo and Toy artic matte nail polish. Maybe next time 🙂 All the products received in the box can be purchased from the Retail Box website except the sweets and pen of course!

Click: http://www.retailbox.co.za/

Halloween & Boxes,
CG

2 thoughts on “Retail Box Secret Box 3

  1. Thanks so much for letting me know 🙂

    I eventually went to pick mine up from Style Bar yesterday and am so happy with the goodies. I received the Barrel brush instead of a paddle one. Really hope that they do an xmas box and that I am able to get my hands on that one!

    Great review too!

    xoxo One Stiletto At a Time

Leave a Reply

