Retail Box Secret Box 1

Retail Box is a South African online site where you can buy hair and nail products. Brands include GHD, Kerastase, Essie, L’Oreal, Paul Mitchell, Pureology and Redken to name a few. I was lucky enough to get my hands on the secret box they recently sold for R99. The cryptic description stated that there were products for a “good hair day”, hydrate and repair the hair, create a perfect ponytail and deluxe samples. From this description I pretty much figured out there would be a hair spray from GHD, a hair treatment and an Invisi Bobble.

IMG_1831

There have been beauty boxes launched in South Africa: Glam box which has now merged with Ruby Box and Glossy Box which has been discontinued. The boxes ranged from R100 to R130 originally but now a RubyBox costs R169 (including shipping). I felt quite ripped off by the beauty boxes because they were mainly small samples and if any the full sized products were cheap with colours that didn’t sell well/didn’t take into account skin tone. The subscription service also still debited you even if you cancelled. The difference with this is that it isn’t a subscription beauty box but a limited stock box that will be on sale every few months. The first box was suited to all hair types but in future there will be boxes suited for specific hair types and concerns. Shipping costs will be R50 for orders under R500 making it the cheapest box on the market. I hate paying for shipping so I purchased two secret boxes (greedy me!) and a few other products to get my total over R500 to qualify for free shipping.

IMG_1527

The box included a GHD heat protect spray (R180), 100ml Paul Mitchell Awapuhi Wild Ginger Keratin Intensive Treatment (150ml retails for R325), Invisi Bobble in Submarine Yellow (R80), a notebook, a pen, 30ml Kérastase Nutritive Irisome Bain Satin 2 shampoo (250ml retails for R255) and a 30ml Kérastase Nutritive Irisome Masquintense (200ml retails for R405). For R99 this was amazing value for money given that there were three full sized products from great brands. My boxes were a little damaged so they couldn’t be reused again and there wasn’t a card explaining the products which I have become accustomed to with beauty boxes. I’ll do a review on the products once I have had a chance to test them out.

IMG_1534

My other purchases were L’Oreal Pro Keratin Refill shampoo and masque for R99 each (normal prices R203 and R267) and a Pureology Essential Repair conditioner for R150 (normal price R280). These products were all on special so I really scored. Two Kérastase 10ml samples were also included with my order. I loved the pink straw packaging that smells like delicious candyfloss – definitely a first experience for me. My order was placed on Wednesday afternoon and I received it on Friday. I will definitely be ordering from Retail Box again. My delivery was quick and shipping charges are cheaper than other sites. I also can’t wait for the next Secret Box!

Click: http://www.retailbox.co.za/

Secrets & Hair,
CG

2 thoughts on “Retail Box Secret Box 1

Leave a Reply

